top of page

George William Fairfax can "stand the utmost screwing"

 "I can stand the utmost screwing, and have enough for me and my wife ["Sally" Sarah Cary - the woman George Washington adores]  to live retired upon." George William Fairfax needs more money to maintain his lifestyle. In his letter he uses a very modern term "screwing." Apparently the usage is rather old.


This utmost screwing refers to inheritances. George William Fairfax is seeing his English inheritances diminish. So he has to consider protecting those income lines by going back to England. He also wants England to give him the Customs job his deceased father had. In the meantime, in Virginia, Lord Fairfax appears to favor Thomas Bryan Martin. Martin is doing the work of ensuring the Northern Neck Proprietorship income. The Proprietorship was bigger than Massachussetts and operated like a colony within a colony. Even though George William Fairfax was the official frontman for this Proprietorship of Lord Fairfax, he really wasn't doing all the hard work. But George William Fairfax is afraid of losing this Virginia position, because now all work is going to be done at Greenway Court in the backcountry wilderness instead of Belvoir on the coast. So yeah, he can stand the utmost screwing, but must he? He enlists the help of Robert Fairfax, younger brother to Lord Fairfax.


"At the death of William Fairfax in 1757, his son George William Fairfax succeeded him to the Proprietary stewardship. . . .


Three years had hardly elapsed since the death of William Fairfax, when information reached George William Fairfax's ear that Thomas Bryan Martin was contriving to influence his Uncle, Lord Fairfax, into making a change in the Proprietary management.


Shortly thereafter, the whole land Office outfit was transferred from the Belvoir House to a depository built for its purpose on his Lordship's manor, Greenway Court. The bitter feeling created in George William Fairfax by Martin's influence over his lordship, is shown through letters of the former which have been published by Edward D. Neill. "


Sources are further below.


That's it.

That's our lead story.


Compiled by Jim Moyer 7/1/2024, research June 2024



There's always more.

Skip around.

Read Bits and Pieces.


Table of Contents


 

Ancestor Tree


.





 

Power Center Move

At the death of William Fairfax in 1757, his son George William succeeded him to the Proprietary stewardship. A few years theretofore, however, Thomas Bryan Martin, a nephew of Lord Fairfax, had come out to Virginia and established himself in his bachelor uncle's home. Three years had hardly elapsed since the death of William Fairfax, when information reached George William's ear that Martin was contriving to influence his Uncle into making a change in the Proprietary manage- ment. Shortly thereafter, the whole land Office outfit was transferred from the Belvoir House to a depository built for its purpose on his Lord- ship's manor, Grcenway Court. The bitter feel- ing created in George William Fairfax by Mar- tin's influence over his lordship, is shown through letters of the former which have been published by Edward D. Neill.


Page 245


Although Greenway Court was Lord Fairfax residence since 1752, he may have conducted business at Belvoir for over a year at Belvoir from May 1760 (when its occupant George William Fairfax departed for England) to Oct 1761.

 

I am informed by many hands (tho’ not from the performers) that an Office is really a building at Greenway Court, and that his Lordship & Family removes this very month [30 October 1761] . It gives me the most concern to find what an Influence Martin has as I fear he will not stop at that, but will daily lessen the Esteem the people have for the good old Gentn:




 

When was Lord Fairfax at Belvoir and Greenway Court


Although Greenway Court was Lord Fairfax residence since 1752, he may have conducted business at Belvoir for over a year at Belvoir from May 1760 (when its occupant George William Fairfax departed for England) to Oct 1761.

I am informed by many hands (tho’ not from the performers) that an Office is really a building at Greenway Court, and that his Lordship & Family removes this very month [30 October 1761] . It gives me the most concern to find what an Influence Martin has as I fear he will not stop at that, but will daily lessen the Esteem the people have for the good old Gentn:



Inference that Lord Fairfax stayed at Belvoir from May 1760 to Oct 1761 as indicated above.


6On 27 May 1760 before leaving for England, Fairfax wrote his cousin Lord Fairfax (Thomas Fairfax, sixth baron Fairfax of Cameron; 1693–1781): “Since your Lordships departure Sally [Mrs. George William Fairfax] tells me that Col [Thomas Bryan] Martin said you would not object to reside here [at Belvoir] in our absence. . . . I desire no rent for the house and plantation, as it will be an advantage to have them inhabited” (Neill, The Fairfaxes of England and America, 119–20). One may infer from Fairfax’s words that Lord Fairfax probably had been during this time GW’s neighbor at Belvoir.


Greenway Court in the Shenandoah Valley had been Lord Fairfax’s residence since 1752.


Belvoir was the residence of first William Fairfax who did 3 Sept 1757 and then his son, George William Fairfax resided there until May 1760 when he, George William Fairfax, departed for England.




Thomas Bryan Martin (1731–1798) was Lord Fairfax’s nephew and land agent.


The top paragraph mentions Lord Fairfax leaving Belvoir 1761. So this letter of 1762 might be referring to that earlier leaving.


George William Fairfax wrote a kinsman on 8 Sept. 1762,

Mr M—— has carried his long laboured point of getting the management of the Office into his own hands, and removing it with them to Frederick” (ibid., 129–30).



Source




 

George William Fairfax in England

May 1760 to July 1763


George William Fairfax and wife Sara "Sally" Cary return to Belvoir, Virginia


Founders Online footnote 2The Fairfaxes arrived back in Virginia in July 1763.


Source




GEO. W. FAIRFAX TO HON. ROBERT FAIRFAX OF ENGLAND.

ASKAM NEAR YoRK,


Nov'r 16, 1762.


Dear Sir :

Upon my return from a tour in the North, I received a line from Mr Washington, which gave me vast pleasure as it acquainted me of your having been in town, and in good health for I was really unhappy by not hearing from you for so long a time.


1 Robert, brother of Thomas, sixth Lord Fairfax, and suc- cessor to the title.


OF AMERICA. 133


Mr Washington. also said you signified an in- tention of going to Virginia in the Spring [1763] if there was peace by that time, & as it now seems in great forwardness I have some thoughts of embarking there [to Virginia] with my family, and shall be extremely glad of such good company, and shall do every thing in my power to make our cottage in that wooded world [more than just a modest cottage in Belvoir VA] , as tolerable to you as possible. Do, my good Sir, think seriously of this and resolve to go.


I really think it would be much to your interest to see once what must shortly be your property, for sorry I am to inform you that by letters from many of my friends, I find, that my good Lord [Thomas the 6th Lord Fairfax of Cameron and older brother to Robert Fairfax] is much broken and declines fast, and it's also* hinted to me that my Lord is made very unhappy, which in some measure accounts for his desire of returning to England.


We propose being in town two or three months before we imbark, and shall hope to have the good fortune of meeting with you there. In the meantime it will give me great pleasure to have a line from


1 Thomas, sixth Lord Fairfax, survived twenty years and died at Greenway Court. 1782.


134 THE FAIRFAXES


you. My wife [Sara "Sally" Cary] and sister present their compliments and I am with great esteem dear Sir Yours &c. G° Wm. Fairfax.




Page 132 - 134, The Fairfaxes of England and America in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, including letters from and to Hon. William Fairfax ... and his sons, Col. George William Fairfax and Rev. Bryan, Eighth Lord Fairfax, the neighbors and friends of George Washington by Neill, Edward D. (Edward Duffield), 1823-1893 Publication date 1868.



Followup:

George William Fairfax returned to Virginia in July 1763, but the above exceprt says they were in England in 1764 to 1768.


Did George William Fairfax go right back to England after July 1763?




 

George William Fairfax and Robert Fairfax against Thomas Bryan Martin



George William Fairfax, though still in England, was a principal participant in this greed-motivatedd struggle, but neither he nor his wife were well -- in 1764, in England, they added smallpox to their other ailments, and for they were operated on by Dr Sutton, "the innoculator."


Nevertheless, George continued campaigning for an appointment to the Virginia Council, and in April 1768, following his return to Virginia, he was sworn in as a Council Member.


However, George has subordinated the Proprietary to the comforts of Tidewater, as well as to his English interests, and any hopes which he had of inheriting septuagenarian Lord Fairfax's estates were based solely upon the fact that, after Robert, he was next in line to the title.


Acting accordingly George allied himself with the pleasant, pliable Robert, and together, they attacked Colnel Martin.


Pages 160-161






 

More on the "screwing" letter

George William Fairfax is contemplating a trip to England to ensure his inheritances there do not dry up. He also wants the jobs his Dad had. His Dad was William Fairfax who died 3 Sept 1757. His Dad was big. He was the on the executive council of Virgina. He had the customs office and was also Lord Thomas Fairfax's chief land agent in Virginia. George William Fairfax wants both jobs. But he has to consider going to England to get that customs job and to fix some of his other inheritances in England. For the land agent job he has competition from the more dependable Thomas Bryan Martin.  


George Willam Fairfax writes on 8 Sept 1762 to Robert Fairfax, Member of Parliament in England and who is the younger brother to Thomas, 6th Lord Fairfax of Cameron.

.

More of the sentence in that letter:

". . . upon the confirmation of this point [trying to retrieve the office of customs after his father William Fairfax had that job] being carried, I was more concerned upon my good Lord's account [6th Lord Thomas Fairfax] than upon my own, for I thank my stars, I can stand the utmost screwing, and have enough for me and my wife ["Sally" Sarah Cary - the woman George Washington adores]  to live retired upon, "


Page 130, The Fairfaxes of England and America in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, including letters from and to Hon. William Fairfax ... and his sons, Col. George William Fairfax and Rev. Bryan, Eighth Lord Fairfax, the neighbors and friends of George Washington

by Neill, Edward D. (Edward Duffield), 1823-1893 Publication date 1868.


Page 151, Virginia Baron: The Story of Thomas 6th Lord Fairfax Hardcover – January 1, 1965 by Stuart E Brown Jr. (Author)






 

George William Fairfax on Council.

That was one of his Dad's job. His dad was William Fairfax who died 3 Sept 1757. His dad also became President of that Council which is next in line of ruling Virginia if the Lt Governor is absent. George William Fairfax attains that role of President.


The Council has 3 roles. It is the upper chamber to House of Burgesses. It is the Judiciary. It acts as the final Supreme Court in the colony before allowing any appeal to go to London's Privy Council. It also is advisor to the Governor and Lt Governor. The Governor is often absent, so the Lt Governor is the actiing governor, In event of the Lt Governor being absent, the President of Council takes over.


22 May 1767

George William Fairfax is appointed to Virginia's Executive Council.

He takes the oath 31 March 1768.

He is present for 20 April 1768 session.


At a Council held March 31st 1768

Present: The President William; Nelson William; Byrd Thomas Nelson Robert Carter Robert Burwell, Esqrs


His Majesty's Letter and Sign Manual dated May 22d 1767, appointing George; William Fairfax; Esqr. one of his Majesty's Council of State for this Colony, having been read, he accordingly, upon taking the Oaths to the Government, and the Oath of Office, was admitted to his place at the Board.


At a Council held April 20th 1768

Present: The President William; Nelson Thomas Nelson Richard Corbin William; Byrd John Tayloe Robert Carter Robert Burwell George William; Fairfax; Esqrs.







 

George William Fairfax letters with GW


Founders Online:

Results 1-10 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)


I had not the pleasure of receiving your favour till after my return from Williamsburg, when it...

We arrived here to-day, where I met Captains Cocks and Ashby, whom I have appointed to remain on...


Upon hearing the many Alarming Accots at Williamsburg, I hasten’d away as soon as possible, tho....


After a very Plesant journey we arrived here the 12th instt, and had the good fortune to find the...

I arrived here the 25th of last month since which there has not been an Opportunity to America,...


Since my Arrival I have been much indisposed, and am now troubeld with slow Fevers every day. But...

I have scarcely time to acquaint you, That I was Yesterday at Mount Vernon to Visit Mr Patterson,...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 22 Aug. 1758. On 1 Sept. Fairfax wrote to GW : “I...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 27 Aug. 1758. On 1 Sept. Fairfax wrote to GW : “I...

I have this instant recd yours of the 22d & 27th Ultimo. The first Mrs Fairfax undertakes to...


Results 11-20 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)

As soon as I despatched the People upon business, I thought it best to come over here to see...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 12 Sept. 1758. On 15 Sept. Fairfax wrote to GW :...

Your favour of the 12th inste I had the pleasure to receive last Night and was sorry your last...

Your acceptable favour of the 15th I had the pleasure to receive Six days afterwards. I greatly...


Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 2 Dec. 1760. On 30 Oct. 1761 Fairfax wrote to GW :...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 6 Mar. 1761. On 30 Oct. Fairfax wrote to GW : “Your...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 3 April 1761. On 30 Oct. Fairfax wrote to GW : “Your...

I came to Town about some business of Colo. Cary’s and could by no means omitt so good an...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 27 July 1761. On 30 Oct. Fairfax wrote to GW : “Your...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 1 Aug. 1761. On 30 Oct. Fairfax wrote to GW : “Your...


Results 21-30 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)


Your favors of the 2d of Decr 6th of March 3d of Apl 27th of July and first of Augt came very...


I am sorry to be the Messenger of ill news, but it is incumbent upon me to inform you of the...


We were a good deal disappointed in the promised Visit—A constant Watch was kept untill the...

I have not a Lath in the World of any kind, seasoned or unseasoned, or you shoud be heartily...

I will take the best care I can of your Letters, that for Mr Waite shall be sent to him, and an...

We are very sorry for Mrs Fairfax’s indisposition, and hope it is slight and will soon be...


Herewith I enclose a Sketch of the Lands joining this the Tract &c. by the late Mr Green, which...


I think you are extreamly right in not submitting to Mr Barrys terms; and I wish it was in my...

Herewith you will receive some Letters which I brought from Williamsburg; which place I left on...


I received yours covering the Deeds and Bonds, which I have examined, and find right, except the...


Results 31-40 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)


My whole attention being now fixed upon preparing for my trip to England . . . I find I can’t...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 2 Jan. 1773. On 19 Jan. 1773 GW wrote to Fairfax :...

If you are done with my Compass & Plotting Instruments, I should be glad to receive them by the...

Letter not found: from George William Fairfax, 19 Jan. 1773. Listed in Thomas Birch’s Sons...

Altho’ I can hardly hold a Pen, yett this is to acknowl. the Receipt of yours, with a Letter for...

You may be surprized to receive a Letter of this date from me, as we might have reasonably...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 25 Sept. 1773. On 10 Jan. 1774 Fairfax wrote : “Your...

The Inclos’d is a copy of my last Letter sent by a ship from Patuxent (name I know not, Mr...

Having wrote to you, soon after my arrival in London, and immediately after my Wife’s recovery...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 30 Dec. 1773. On 30 June 1786 GW wrote Fairfax :...


Results 41-50 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)


Your very Obliging favour of the 15th of October, covering a Copy of one dated the 25th of Septr...

Letter not found: from George William Fairfax, 31 Mar. 1774 . On 30 June 1786 GW wrote Fairfax :...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 15 May 1774. On 30 June 1786 GW wrote Fairfax : “The...

Letter not found: from George William Fairfax, June 1774. On 25 July 1775 GW wrote to Fairfax :...

In my way to this place I met with your Letter of the 10th of Jany at Dumfries—In consequence of...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 20 Aug. 1774. On 30 June 1786 GW wrote Fairfax :...


Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 15 Nov. 1774. On 2 Mar. 1775 Fairfax wrote GW that...

Your very obliging favor of the 15th of November last, I received only the 23d Ulto. Immediately...

Letter not found: to George William Fairfax, 6 April 1775. On 30 June 1786 GW wrote Fairfax :...

Since my last (dated about the first of April) I have received from Mr Craven Peyton the Sum of...


Results 51-60 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)


On the other side you will receive a Copy of my last, dated at Philadelphia the 31st of May, and...

In my hurry, Yesterday, I forgot the principal thing I had in view, when I sat down to write to...


Immediately on my appointment to the command of the American Army and arrival at Cambridge (near...

By Genl Burgoynes great Politeness & kindness, I am not only made happy, by the fullest, and most...


On the other side is a Copy of a Letter, that Genl Burgoyne was so obliging, as to undertake...

Mrs Græme a Lady of large property in South Carolina, the Place of Her Nativity, who has been in...

I have lately received a Letter dated 13th of July last, from our worthy friend Mr Nicholas,...


I cannot express the Joy with which I take up my Pen to congratulate your Excellency, upon the...

With very sincere pleasure I receiv’d your favor of the 26th March—It came to hand a few days...

From your very Wise resolution of retiring to your own Estate and biding adieu to public life for...


Results 61-70 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)


I have been called upon very unexpectedly by a Gentn passing through this place to London, in...

Tho I had resolved to avoid being further troublesome to you an occasion has occur’d which...


In a letter of old date, but lately received, from the Countess of Huntington, she refers me to a...

Mr Thomas Corbin, now in my House, proposing to Embark in a few days for Virginia, has earnestly...

By the receipt of your favor of Feby 27th I am well convinced of what I have long suspected, that...

When I wrote you in Feby last, I intended to have followed it with a letter of earlier date than...

Inclosed you have a copy of my last; since which nothing has occurred worthy of observation,...


Being but just now informed that a Vessell is to Sail in a very few days from Bristol for...

This will I hope be presented to you by John Anstey Esqr. in his Tour through America. He goes...

Since I had the honor of writing to you in November last, I have been favoured with your letters...


Results 71-72 of 72 sorted by date (ascending)


Better late than never, is an adage not less true, or less to be respected, because it is old....

Hearing by accident that a Ship will sail in a Day or two from Bristol for Virginia I just...



 

More letters



by Neill, Edward D. (Edward Duffield), 1823-1893 Publication date 1868.





 

Robert Fairfax in Virgina 1768


Robert Fairfax arrived mid August 1768 at Hampton Virginia. aboard HMS Dealcastle.


Page 160, citing Virginia Gazette 25 Aug 1768






 









 

Like most of us, nothing will last of us after those who lived with us are gone too. No street name or city named after us will remain. But that is okay. For George William Fairfax,is like most of us. We live, strive, blossom like a flower, and our moment is gone. But that is okay too. If we need immortality, well then we already have it in the Laws of Conservation of Mass. There is no such thing as nothingness in science. And so this fanciful flight of contemplation leads us back to understanding "everyman," George William Fairfax, despite his privileged first world stress.




 

..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

..


.

.

.

.

コメント


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page